The Hartford County Bar Association

The HCBA is a voluntary not-for-profit association of lawyers and judges in Hartford County, dedicated to promoting public service and furthering the principles of law and justice.


Judge Maxwell Heiman Memorial Award
The Judge Maxwell Heiman Memorial Award is presented to a Hartford County lawyer in his or her first ten years of practice who exemplifies the high standards of service to the profession, ethics, scholarship and devotion to clients that were the hallmarks of Judge Heiman’s professional career as a lawyer and judge.

Hope C. Seeley – 1998
Eileen McCarthy Geel – 2000
Dennis F. Kerrigan –  2001
Robert F. Simpson – 2002
Michael C. Harrington – 2003
Richard F. Vitarelli – 2004
Campbell D. Barrett – 2005
Kenneth J. Bartschi and Karen Staib – 2006
Mark M. Porto – 2007
Denise V. Zamore – 2009
Jeffrey J. White – 2011
Cecil J. Thomas – 2013
Michael D. Goldfarb – 2015
Genea O. Bell – 2016
Meghan M. Sweeney – 2017
David A. McGrath – 2018
Daniel M. Salton – 2019


President’s Award for Excellence
The President’s Award for Excellence is presented to member who has been engaged in the practice of law for more than 10 years, exemplifies the highest traditions of the legal profession, has performed significant services to the community at large, and exemplifies excellence and civility in his or her practice.

William R. Davis – 2001
Edwin Gordon Hebb, Jr. – 2002
Wesley W. Horton – 2003
Howard M. Klebanoff – 2004
Louis R. Pepe – 2006
Thomas J. Groark, Jr. – 2008
Honorable Marshall K. Berger, Jr. – 2009
Kathryn A. Calibey – 2010
Albert Zakarian – 2012
Francis J. Brady – 2014
Austin J. McGuigan – 2015
John C. Matulis, Jr. – 2016
Sharon L. Pope – 2017
Moy N. Ogilvie – 2018
Hubert J. Santos – 2019

John M. Bailey Memorial Award for Public Service
The John M. Bailey Memorial Award for Public Service is awarded periodically by The Hartford County Bar Association (“HCBA”) to a worthy Hartford County lawyer who has demonstrated a sustained commitment to the highest ideals of the legal profession while in public service. Named in honor of former Chief State’s Attorney and past HCBA President John M. (“Jack”) Bailey, the award is intended to recognize public servants who, like Jack, make extraordinary contributions to our community by dedicating their professional lives to public service.

Mary Rose Palmese – 2005
Grace Caverno Feliu – (posthumously) – 2007
Margaret Moriarty – 2008
Sara L. Bernstein – 2010
Nora Dannehy – 2011
Attorney General George Jepsen – 2015
Timothy S. Fisher – 2016
Melissa A. Farley – 2017
Hon. Chase T. Rogers – 2018
Hon. Joette Katz – 2019


The Liberty Bell Award
The Liberty Bell Award was conceived by Flint, Michigan attorney William P. Daniel and first awarded by the Young Lawyers Section of the State Bar of Michigan in 1962. The American Bar Association in 1964 formally endorsed the award for use by bar associations nationally. It is presented to someone who has promoted better understanding of the rule of law, encouraged greater respect for law and the courts, stimulated a sense of civic responsibility, or contributed to good government in the community. It is often presented to an individual lawyer or judge or to an entire community organization. Since then thousands of individuals have received the Liberty Bell Award in recognition for extraordinary contributions to the American legal system.


2019 Bridget Allison, Esq., Student Court Teacher, Hartford Public High School Academy of Law & Government
2018 Mark Schreier, Director, Connecticut Community Law Center
2017 Edmund H. Mahony Writer, The Hartford Courant
2016 Those Who Testify at Trial
2015 Jon Lender Columnist, Government Watch The Hartford Courant
2014 Connecticut League of Women Voters -Greater Hartford League
2013 Hartford Judicial District Victims’ Advocates
2012 John Dankosky, WNPR News Director/Host, “Where We Live”, Connecticut Public Broadcasting, Inc.
2011 Mr. Bruce Clements The Children’s Law Center of Connecticut
2010 Boy Scouts of America Connecticut Rivers Council Learning for Life and Exploring Division
2009 Alyce F. Hild Executive Director, Loaves & Fishes
2008 Rabbi Donna Berman Executive Director, Charter Oak Cultural Center
2007 James Greene Deputy Director, CSSD
2006 Washington Street Juvenile Detention Center for Girls
2005 Erini Orsaris Hartford Judicial Department
2004 Teresa Younger  Executive Director, CCLU
2003 Greater Hartford Legal Aid Foundation
2002 Luis V. Ramos, Hartford Transitional Learning Academy
2001 Walter “Doc”Hurley
2000 Evan S. Dobelle, President Trinity College
1999 David M. Jackson, Trial Court Administrator
1998 Mayor Michael P. Peters
1997 Daniel I. Papermaster, Esq.
1996 Ms. Alta Lash, Director CT Action for Neighborhoods